RSS Feed

A sailor|if I have a hammer|prompts of the day

Posted on

Echoes of Sinbad the sailor: Flickr photo of the day

If I have a hammer
I would be a carpenter,
and I would be an Art-painter
I'll build a boat,and I'll trace route
If I have a hammer
I would be a sailor,
I'll say then lo,
and I'll pray,Oh! Lord! 
I have pain in my heart to sooth

I would have astrolabe, Sextan,and compasses 
maps, and routes I'll  draw, as hour passes
So, I'll throw off the bowlines behind, and go asea,
and see people, and things I would never see
I would be a skipper, I got
urgent desire, a heart on dire to see the seven seas_
"Les Îles Marquises,
le ciel est bleu la mer est grise."
Then, I would reconcile my heart
with  that old dream of mine,
I had once ago, when I was a kid of nine.
That's would be it, a state-of-mind, and art?

Then, I'll  say cheers to all the tears, and all the fears, 
and all the dreams, loves and friends left, behind.
That, shall I have  a toast with a glass of wine

Then, I can sing Brel,
and I  draw like Gauguin 
With peace in mind

https://kmlkoubablog.wordpress.com/2014/04/25/just-to-make-this-dock-my-home/

 

One response »

  1. Reblogged this on Mackneen_The Algerian Goldfinch and commented:

    So,” if I have a hammer,” a Daily prompt, I already respond , a year ago, that today is almost an anniversary but it remains a calling, and still a dream I have since I was a kid of nine

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Nano Poblano

Official Home of the World's Least Official Blog-Everyday-November Challenge

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

radical eyes for equity

Confronting "our rigid refusal to look at ourselves" (James Baldwin)

Anthony Wilson

'Disarmingly open...one of today’s most popular and essential online reads' The Poetry Trust

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

